top of page

Journey of Senior Year

This year I graduated. Not the way I wanted or how I had dreamed of doing it for the past 13 years but I made it and walked the stage for my diploma. Who would've known that March 6 would be my last full and normal day of high school, right? Coming from me, it was hard to wrap my head around the fact that I would never step foot in my high school again this year. I am starting way too late in the year. Let's start at the beginning.


The beginning goes like this. The senior class of 2020 at my high school had a sunrise breakfast where we mingled and hung out till the last first day of high school. It came by pleasant surprise when most of our class was there. That was just the start of a busy fall semester. I was in band for four years and that means early morning practices and late nights as well as an FFA member which included the same thing except it wasn't marching getting me up at 6 in the morning and staying out later than 11 it was a goat. But, all worth it in the end because the band made it to the area marching band competition for the first time in about 20 years. And football along with that made it to the state championship. As a senior, watching us all do these things for the last time and doing senior nights was a bittersweet ending to the year 2019. Now we are to January through May, which for me essentially all runs together. January not much happened, I got back into the swing of things for high school while the world starting going down the drain. February I showed my goat at our local FFA show for the last time after 7 years of being apart of a great organization. And then March hit...


March was the month that I got an extended spring break which lasted for another 3 months longer than anyone expected. The high school went online classes on the 16 of March and stayed that way till the 15th of May. It was a rough go around with online school as well as being a senior who might I add had a bad case of senioritis. Covid took away some things that I will never get back, but gave me so much at the same time. I grew closer in my relationship to God. I grew closer to my friends and family. And I learned to never take the time we think we have for granted. Now I did get to graduate and have prom while others may have not. But, it was a rough and bumpy road. I am blessed to have experienced the history and the challenges though. I am not complaining at all. I grew from them and if you aren't growing you aren't really living a great life.


Now, I am a graduate. I am going into my freshman year of college. (Scary!) And I am pursuing a passion that has been on my heart since junior year of high school. My passion Now I may not have had some things that most seniors get in their last semester, but can't wait to spend my freshman year at college. All in all, I learned so much from just this event and the history in the making.


The lessons that I learned have made me a more stronger, productive, and communicative person while also learning to be incredibly grateful for life. I encourage you to learn from what covid or any hardship has given you, never take the time that we have for granted, and always love and care strong for those around you.


"And God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you, always having all sufficiency in all things may have an abundance for every good work." - 2 Corinthians 9:8


Thank you so much for giving me the ability to share my stories and lessons and hardships I have been through to help encourage and help those around me. If you need anything or have any questions, then contact me through email, Facebook, or instagram!

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

10 things I wish I could tell my younger self

When Harley asked me to write a guest post for her blog not only was I thrilled and honored but I immediately knew what the topic was going to be. Now that she is 18, graduated high school, and a fres

Post: Blog2 Post
  • Instagram

©2020 by The Life of Harls. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page